Caramelized White Chocolate

The word “caramelized” followed by anything in a recipe is usually enough to have me salivating. Fruits, vegetables, condensed milk, anything. Hence, it’s not a surprise that I’ve been lusting for caramelized white chocolate for some time now.

I have to say though, I did have trouble making this. This was mostly because I couldn’t find a good bar of white chocolate, and had to make do with a dubious brand that didn’t even list the percentage of cocoa butter on the label. The chocolate kept getting grainy and was difficult to stir. But pleasantly enough, it transformed itself to a nice, delicious, smooth consistency after I blended it with some cream in my mixer.

Because I had so much trouble with the recipe, I think it’s best I point you in the direction of the original recipe that is quite detailed and helpful (the cream+blending tip was from here):

Caramelized white chocolate from davidlebovitz.com

This entry was posted in Sweet. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Caramelized White Chocolate

  1. Sho says:

    That looks delish!

  2. Paul says:

    looks great! might try this some time (:

    check out the ‘nifty’ http://www.nytimes.com/2006/12/24/magazine/24food.t.html

    hope you’re well..

    • Tanya says:

      Hi Paul! Yeah, I remember that conversation about dulce de leche, and have been meaning to make it ever since. Thanks for the link! I’ll definitely make this sometime soon.

Leave a Reply

