And I’m Back (Also, Poached Egg with Stir Fried Spinach)

Hello Reader,

It’s been some time. It’s been three months to be precise. I had promised to be back two and a half months ago. But stuff happened. A lot of stuff.

It all started on my vacation to Goa (which was gorgeous and lush in its extremely-pregnant-with-the-monsoon-rains state). Drunk on the gorgeousness of the place (plus some very delicious Kings Beer), and the desire to explore more of this amazing country while we’re still young, we started to plan our next vacation — for the next week.

And so we went to Benaras. And then Bombay, from where we went to a house on the banks of a gorgeous lake. Before coming back to Delhi. And then suddenly the holidays and travelling was over and I had to say a very heartbreaking goodbye to someone I love very much (see, a lot of stuff happened!).

And then my life changed a bit. I started working towards getting a dream job at a dream company. I then got the job and did a lot of happy dances. And now I am finally settling into a new, mostly improved life.  There are so many details about all of this that I want to share, but I’ll do it bit by bit.

In the meanwhile, let me tell you about breakfast. I don’t think I’ve mentioned this before, but eggs are one of my favorite foods. I can eat three meals a day that would feature it prominently, but I try not to for obvious reasons. Today’s eggy love was a perfectly poached egg with stir fried spinach and sticks of toast.

Poached Egg with Stir Fried Spinach
Serves 1

While I love the combination of buttery greens, eggs and bread, I felt like eating something a bit more fresh-tasting this morning. Hence the spinach here is given a slightly asian stif-fry treatment. The measurements for this recipe, as with most savory recipes, is loose and to taste. If you want to have this for lunch, I would suggest eating it on a thickly sliced and toasted piece of French or Italian bread. 

Also, if you’re nervous about poaching eggs, this is a really great tutorial from Smitten Kitchen. 

1 cup roughly chopped spinach
1 tsp/2 small cloves garlic
a few drops of dark soy (to taste)
3-4 drops toasted sesame oil
1 tsp neutral flavored oil (I use canola but any vegetable oil will do)
1/4 piece of a small lemon

1 large egg
1tbsp vinegar (plain white is best here)
water for poaching

Clean and chop the spinach and garlic, set aside. Keep the soy and sesame oil at hand. Cut the piece of lemon and set aside.

Set a pot of water to boil (a medium sized one is good. I used to use a rather small pot, in which I could never get a properly shaped poached egg, but am very easily able to do so in a medium sized pot).

Heat 1 tsp oil in a pan and add the garlic. Fry 30 seconds or a minute till the garlic is a blonde-golden color. Add the spinach and stir. Continue stirring on a medium high heat for 2-3 minutes till the spinach is wilted and darker in color, add the soy sauce and sesame oil, stir and remove from the heat.

By this time the water should have come to the boil. Crack the egg into a bowl. Add the vinegar to the water and stir the water to create a slight whirlpool. Add the egg to the center of the pot and set your timer to 4 minutes (I cooked mine for 3 and a half minutes because the egg was rather small).

Plate up: Put your choice of bread in your toaster. Pile the spinach on a plate and drizzle with some lemon juice. Once the egg is cooked, remove from the water using a slotted spoon and place on top of the spinach, sprinkle with a little salt and pepper. Slice the toast into sticks and eat.

This entry was posted in Savory. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to And I’m Back (Also, Poached Egg with Stir Fried Spinach)

  1. Sho says:

    YOU’RE BACK!

    Also, I’m not a big fan of scrambling and what not, but I love me poached eggs! Dayummm girl, it’s so good to see you back, even if it’s only cooking breakfast for yourself. 😛

Leave a Reply

