Strawberry ricotta scones, bad habits

Oh my lovelies, I seem to be full of bad manners and bad habits. The winter holiday season has come and gone, and I haven’t shared any of the delicious fun I’ve been having. I do have good reason for this though, most of this fun has not happened in my kitchen but in the millions of little restaurants that have been popping up in this city. I think I should start posting restaurant reviews on this blog, if for no other reason but to justify my inability to go through the week without eating out 4 out of 7 nights.

In the meanwhile, let me offer you some scones, strawberry ricotta scones to be exact.

Image

(Don’t ask me why I stacked the scones in this picture, I won’t have an answer more convincing than “it seeeemed like a good idea at the time…“)

These scones are delicious. Delicious, with a crumbly crust and a fluffy center. However, they are delicious for exactly one hour after they come out of the oven. Regrettably, I know this because I packed a bunch of them and took them to a picnic….the horror of what time did to these beauties haunts me, but I take solace in knowing that you won’t be as daft as I was. Make the dough, cut it up, decide how much you want to serve, and freeze the rest of the dough, please.

Also, this is a great place to use that yummazing homemade ricotta you made earlier (If you haven’t already, give in. You know you want to, you know you can. Just do it.).

Strawberry Ricotta Scones
Adapted from Smitten Kitchen

The original recipe is a wholewheat ricotta raspberry scone. I changed it up mostly because I don’t like raspberries, and didn’t feel like using atta -the only type of whole wheat flour available here- in this recipe. I’m glad I did, because these were positively dreamy when eaten warm. Also, I usually cut my scones in smallish, 1.5 inch, squares because I like scones in smaller portions. Feel free to cut them any size or shape you like. And finally, I use salted butter, because it’s hard to find inexpensive unsalted butter here. If you would like to use unsalted butter, add 1/2 a tsp salt to your dry ingredients for this recipe. 

2 cups all purpose flour
1 tablespoon  baking powder
1/4 cup sugar
6 tablespoons cold butter, cut in cubes
1 cup strawberries, or whatever berry you like, roughly chopped
3/4 cup whole milk ricotta, or fresh homemade ricotta
1/3 cup heavy cream

Preheat oven to 200 degrees C. Line a baking sheet with parchment paper.

Whisk dry ingredients together: In a large, bowl, whisk the first three ingredients together, enough to make sure the baking powder is evenly distributed.

Work in the butter: Using a pastry blender, or your fingers, cut/rub the butter into the flour, till the largest pieces are about the size of a pea.

Make the dough: Using a sturdy spatula, or wooden spoon, mix in the berries, ricotta, and cream till you form a rough shaggy dough. Try not to overmix the dough. Gently knead and pat all the shaggy bits together to form one mass. You want the dough to remain shaggy and craggly, not smooth, so be careful not to knead too much or you’ll end up with a much denser scone.

Pat it out into a square: Flour your work surface (either a clean kitchen counter, or any smooth flat surface like the back of a large tray will do for this). Using floured hands, flatten the dough into a square or rectangle about an inch tall.

Cut the dough into squares: or whatever shape you like and transfer to your lined baking tray. You can bake these right away, or freeze them and bake as and when needed.

Bake for about 15 minutes, till lightly brown. Serve warm as is, or with more ricotta, or lightly whipped cream.

This entry was posted in Fruit, Sweet. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

